Pizza and winter jumpers

I have always been a pizza lover. I remember being the tiny skinny girl that I was but I could eat two full size pizzas! People looked at me like I was some strange thing as they could not work out where those pizzas could fit in my skinny frame.

Italian food is something that if I had to select one cuisine to take with me to a deserted island it would be Italian cooking particularly the pheasant food type of rustic Tuscan cuisine. It is just simply delicious and as we all know from the recent Blue Zone series it is also a very healthy way to eat.

The past weekend I was really craving for a pizza. We have had a bit of an issue for a few years as our daughter got a tummy bug accidentally when she last ate pizza so she has had a very funny aversion to pizza for a long time. It was finally a time to break that aversion.

For those of you who buy ready made pizza bases it is time for an upgrade. When you make your own pizza dough it will be crustier and more authentic. Also simplicity of the toppings is essential, don’t make American style thick base with too much stuff on top. Go simple just crunshed tomato, olive oil, mozzarella and basil. That is an absolutely perfect pizza! Below my guaranteed pizza dough recipe.

Ingredients:

– 2dl (1 cup) water

– 1 sachet dry yeast (7g)

– 1 tsp salt

-4 tbsp olive oil

– 5dl (2 1/2 cup) white flour

Method:

1. Mix warm water and yeast

2. Add oil, salt and flour

3. Let it rise for 30min

4. Make two big thin pizza bases

Toppings:

POLPO finely crushed tomato, fresh big ball of buffalo mozzarella sliced, fresh basil and olive oil! Yum!

Bake it in 230-250 Celsius degrees for 12-15 minutes.

It’s also getting colder here in Melbourne. Today is very rainy and we have finally hit the autumn chilliness. Apparently it will rain all day! Inspired by the changing seasons and winter coming I made a winter styling video: Mastering Winter Style: 4 Chic Jumper Looks You Need to Try Now!You can watch the video on YouTube via this link

Leave a comment