Vol Au Vent -Feuilletés Aux Fruits De Mer

Vol au vents are one of my specialities. If I know that someone who really appreciates good food is coming for a visit, these vol au vents are what I serve. I experienced these lovely seafood treasures during my time in France. One can modify the recipe by using different fillings and sauces. In Strasbourg where I did my student exchange, these seafood vol au vents were served as starters at the STUDENT RESTAURANT! Believe it or not but these kind of delicious treats were only considered starters in there then came the main course and dessert too…by only 3,5 euros. A little bit different from Finland if I’d say so.

The first time I promised to cook for my dear Aussie man, I made these seafood vol au vents. He said that I tricked him by serving these kinds of delicious small gourmet snacks. I reckon one could say that the pleasant and delectable flavour of vol au vents really does put a spell on its eater. My dear Aussie man keeps on asking me to cook this starter again and again. They are one of his favourite of all (even though he has many many other favourites). The nice texture of puff pastry goes so well with seafood that it surprises me every time. These are best served as starters or nice snacks with drinks. They also look fancier than they actually are, but this is the thing that you never tell your friends and guests!

VOL AU VENTS

Cut puff pastry into squares. Take half of them and cut a round circle in the middle of the squares. You can use for example small espresso cup to make the round hole in the middle of the squares. Set the squares with the holes as hats on the rest of the squares. Seal them by squeezing them well together. Brush them with egg to make them shiny in the oven. Cook them for 20 min in 175-200 degrees.

SEAFOOD SAUCE for vol au vent

2 onions

2 1/2 dl chicken/fish stock

2 dl white wine

200g seafood mixture (mussels, prawns, squids, surimi=crab sticks)

1-2 dl cream (depending on how creamy flavour you want)

1-2 tbs lemon zest

2-4 tbs white flour or Maizena

salt and black pepper

1. Cook the onions at first.

2. Add the chicken stock and white wine and bring it to boil.

3.Add seafood mixture, then cream and lemon.

4. Don’t cook the sauce for too long otherwise seafood comes chewy. Add salt and pepper in the end and if you want the sauce to become thicker add a few spoonfull of flour or Maizena to get it thicker. Pour the sauce in the middle of vol au vents! ENJOY! White wine is the bomb with this dish!

One thought on “Vol Au Vent -Feuilletés Aux Fruits De Mer

Leave a Reply

